Sleeping Beauty

Famille de Blacas - blason

Once upon a time the King and Queen were finally blessed with a daughter. They were so delighted by the arrival of their beloved princess that they made all the fairies in the kingdom godmothers. On the day of the christening each of them bestowed a gift on Aurora: beauty, grace, talent, and all things that would render her happy. 

However, Carabosse, a wicked fairy was furious not to have been invited. She sneeringly murmured, “I, too, wish to bestow a gift on the princess!! When she is fifteen she will prick her finger on a spindle and die…” The wicked fairy then disappeared in a puff of black smoke.

 Immediately, one of the good fairies spoke again and declared: “Fear not, King and Queen, your daughter will not die. Yes, she will prick herself on a spindle but, rather than dying, she will fall into a deep slumber that will last a hundred years and finally she will be awoken by a prince.”

The little princess Aurora grew up, happy and blessed by the fairies’ good wishes turning all the while into a more and more beautiful young woman.

On the day of her 15th birthday she was strolling around the castle and at the top of the tower she came across an old woman who was spinning wool on a spindle. Aurora wanted to try turning it but alas, she pricked her finger and fell to the ground in a dead faint. The King and the Queen were overcome with grief and had her carried onto a majestic bed in the most beautiful room in the castle.

On learning the terrible news, one of the good fairies waved her magic wand over all the living creatures in the vicinity, apart from the King and Queen, as she didn’t want Aurora to wake up alone. The guards, servants, horses, mice and even the princess’s pet kitten fell into a deep slumber… The grounds around the castle became an impenetrable forest of briars and bushes.

Time passed…until one day a prince from a neighbouring kingdom was curious to know about the mysterious castle lost in the undergrowth. A passing peasant told him that in the castle slept the most beautiful princess in the world, condemned to sleep for a hundred years until awoken by a kiss from a charming prince.

Spurred on by love and the desire to see this incredibly beautiful young woman, the prince made his way towards the castle. As if by magic, trees and briars opened a pathway in front of him as he wound his way forwards. In the courtyard he found all the inhabitants sound asleep, then trembling with emotion he made his way to the princess’s chamber.

Astounded by the young woman’s beauty he knelt gently beside her and softly kissed her.  As if by magic the princess opened her eyes and the whole castle came back to life as if nothing had happened! So, everyone in the castle set to work to prepare the most luscious feast for the prince and princess. They were married that same evening and were blessed with sweet dreams all night long.

The prince and Aurora lived happily ever after in the Château d’Ussé which is now known as

Sleeping Beauty’s Castle.

La Belle au
Bois Dormant

Famille de Blacas - blason

Il était une fois une princesse que ses parents, le Roi et la Reine avaient tant attendu qu’ils lui donnèrent pour marraines toutes les fées du royaume. Lors du baptême, chacune d’elles fit un don à Aurore : beauté, grâce, talent, et tout ce qu’il lui faudrait pour être heureuse.

 Cependant Carabosse, une méchante fée, apparut furieuse car elle n’avait pas été invitée. En ricanant, elle murmura, « moi aussi, je veux faire un don à la princesse !! A quinze ans, elle se piquera avec un fuseau et mourra… » La méchante fée disparut dans un nuage de fumée noire.

 Aussitôt, la dernière fée prit la parole et déclara : « rassurez – vous, Roi et Reine, votre fille ne mourra pas. Certes, elle se piquera avec un fuseau mais, au lieu de mourir, elle tombera dans un sommeil qui durera cent ans, au bout desquels le fils d’un roi viendra la réveiller.

La petite princesse grandit, heureuse et comblée de tous les bienfaits des fées. La princesse Aurore devint une jeune fille de plus en plus belle.

Le jour de ses 15 ans, elle se promena dans le château et en haut de la tour, elle rencontra une vielle femme qui filait la laine avec un fuseau. Aurore voulut essayer de le faire tourner… Hélas, elle se piqua le doigt et tomba à terre évanouie. Le Roi et la Reine en pleurs la firent transporter sur un grand lit dans le plus bel appartement du château.

Ayant appris la terrible nouvelle, une gentille fée, pour que la princesse ne se retrouve pas seule lorsqu’elle se réveillerait, toucha de sa baguette tout ce qui était dans le château, hormis le Roi et la Reine. Les gardes, serviteurs, chevaux et souris y compris la petite chatte de la princesse,  tous  sombrèrent dans un profond sommeil…  Autour du palais poussa une épaisse forêt de ronces et de buissons.

Le temps passa, jusqu’au jour où un prince du royaume voisin demanda quel était ce château enfoui dans les arbres. Un vieux paysan qui passait par là, lui expliqua que dans ce château dormait une princesse, la plus belle du monde, qui doit dormir cent ans et qui sera réveillée par le baiser d’un prince charmant.

Le jeune prince poussé par l’amour et par le désir de voir cette fille que l’on disait si belle, s’avança vers le château. Devant lui les arbres et les ronces s’écartèrent comme par enchantement. Dans la cour, le prince trouva tous les habitants endormis, il arriva tout tremblant d’émotion à la chambre de la princesse.

Ebloui par la beauté de la belle jeune fille, il s’agenouilla à côté d’elle et lui donna un doux baiser. Comme  par enchantement la princesse ouvrit les yeux et tout  le château s’éveilla comme s’il ne s’était rien passé ! Alors les gens du château se mirent au travail pour offrir au prince et à la princesse leur plus beau repas. Le soir, on les maria et ils passèrent une nuit peuplée de rêves délicieux.

Le prince et Aurore vécurent heureux très longtemps au château d’Ussé, que l’on appelle maintenant  le

Château de la Belle au bois dormant.